Founding Male Champions of Change

The first Male Champions of Change peer group, the Founding Group, began in 2010. The Founding Group started with 8 Australian leaders and has since grown to 28. Comprising of CEOs, Board Directors, Government Department, University and Military leaders.

Male Champions of Change work together to achieve a significant and sustainable improvement in the unacceptably low levels of women in leadership. For too long, women alone have led the way advocating for and achieving hard-won improvements. Yet many men hold the power and influence to help advance this work.

The Founding Group have seen real impact from their individual and collective actions. The Group has shared their approach and resources to help other leaders get started, build momentum and accelerate change towards gender equality. The MCC coalition now includes hundreds of leaders across Australia, and internationally, all of whom have benefitted from the Founding Group’s insights.

To be a Male Champion of Change on gender equality requires genuine commitment, time, investment and innovation. None of the Founding Group claim to have everything right. Yet they are resolute that championing change on gender equality cannot wait until they can all claim to be perfect role models. The MCC Founding Group are leaders who are willing to step up, work together, listen, learn and lead with action.

Who are the Male Champions of Change in the Founding Group?

  • Alan Joyce (Qantas)
  • Andrew Penn (Telstra)
  • Angus Campbell (Defence)
  • Angus Dawson (McKinsey)
  • Andrew Stevens (Non-Executive Director)
  • Chris Moraitis (Attorney General’s Dept)
  • David Morrison AM (Non-Executive Director)
  • David Thodey (Non-Executive Director)
  • Dominic Stevens (ASX)
  • Gary Wingrove (KPMG)
  • Geoff Wilson (Non-Executive Director)
  • Glen Boreham (Non-Executive Director)
  • Gordon Cairns (Non-Executive Director)


  • Dr Ian Watt AO (Non-Executive Director)
  • Kevin McCann (Non-Executive Director)
  • Martin Parkinson (Non-Executive Director)
  • Matt Comyn (Commonwealth Bank of Australia)
  • Michael Spence (University of Sydney)
  • Paul Anderson (Network Ten)
  • Peter Varghese AO (University of Queensland)
  • Richard Deutsch (Deloitte Australia)
  • Simon Rothery (Goldman Sachs)
  • Convenor: Elizabeth Broderick
  • Special Advisor: Frances Adamson (DFAT)
  • Special Advisor: Joanne Farrell (Rio Tinto)
  • International Ambassadors: Michael Rennie (Middle East), Stephen Fitzgerald (London) Cindy Hook (Singapore)

Click here for group timeline

Click here for recent news


Reports and Letters to Leaders

Annual Progress Reports