MCC National Group est. 2015

In 2015, a group of leaders, based in Victoria and representing some of Australia’s most significant local, national and international organisations, formed a Male Champions of Change group.  

Representing nearly 130,000 employees across a wide range of sectors, our goal is to improve the representation of women in leadership positions and in non-traditional roles in our organisations.

Many of our iconic organisations play key roles in advancing gender equality in the wider communities they reach. 

Through conversations with both male and female employees in our organisations, we uncovered our immediate priorities for action:

  • step up our leadership on gender equality
  • embed flexible working as a mainstream, valued and rewarded way of working, for everyone
  • elevate the voices of women as speakers and panellists at conferences and events
  • have consistent and transparent gender balance metrics and greater accountability
  • create workplaces where everyday sexism and gendered expectations about work and careers do not limit opportunities for men or women
  • provide workplace support for people experiencing and recovering from domestic and family violence

The group is chaired by Kate Jenkins, Federal Sex Discrimination Commissioner.

For further information contact the Program Director Lisa Whiffen at

Who are the Male Champions of Change?

  • Graham Ashton, Victoria Police

  • Rowen Craigie, Crown Resorts

  • Craig Drummond, Medibank                  

  • Chris Eccles, Department of Premier and Cabinet

  • Ahmed Fahour, Australia Post              

  • James Fazzino, Incitec Pivot

  • Adam Fennessy, Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning

  • Tony Frencham, Dow Chemical

  • Nicolas Gindt, Yarra Trams

  • Doug Hilton, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research

  • Damon Johnston, Herald Sun

  • Brian Kruger, Non Executive Director

  • Chris Maxwell, President of the Court of Appeal, Supreme Court

  • Gillon McLachlan, AFL

  • Ben Rimmer, City of Melbourne

  • George Savvides, Chair/NED

  • Luke Sayers, PwC

  • Ian Silk, Australian Super

  • Andrew Thorburn, National Australia Bank

Recent news & announcements

Coming soon